Kundalini Energy

The doctrine of the chakras, as an important part of the energy body and the energy system, is closely related to Kundalini energy in the Hindu tradition. The kundalini power is described as the dormant consciousness potential created in the root chakra, which activates spiritual practice and then ascends through the purified and opened chakras to the crown chakra, leading to second degree enlightenment. The Kundalini is symbolically called serpent power. People with a kaleidoscope experience have actually told us about the physical feeling that an energetic snake is winding up through her body.

Kundalini in Tantra and Yoga

The knowledge of the process of Kundalini awakening is primarily transmitted in tantra, a special spiritual flow within Hinduism and Buddhism. Yoga, especially Kriya Yoga, also teaches such tantric techniques.

Ascent of Kundalini through Shushumna, Ida and Pingala

The most important channel in this process is the central shushumna channel, which is physically roughly represented in the spinal cord canal. This central nadi is surrounded by two other important nadis, Ida and Pingala, which are to the left and right of the Shushumna Nadi, corresponding to female and male qualities and ending in the two openings of the nostrils.

Ida and Pingala spiral up from the Root Chakra around the Shushumna Nadi, and at their four intersections are the middle four chakras, with their major nerve centers and endocrine glands.

The flow of energy from the base of the spine, through the 7 chakras and up to the crown chakra, represents the ascent from physical consciousness (prakriti) to cosmic unity consciousness (samhadhi).

Nadis and prana

The chakras are energy centers for receiving, transforming and distributing life energy or prana, as it is called in Sanskrit. This subtle energy circulates in different vibrational states in the subtle bodies and a system of energy channels or channels, the so-called Nadis. The Vedas speak of 72,000 nadis, including smaller nadis, some even speak of 300,000 nadis, each having specific functions, and supplying certain areas of the physical body with energy.

Raise / activate Kundalini

Which factors lead to the activation of the Kundalini force is ultimately unclear. Although there are various techniques that are supposed to help to awaken this power and also shaktipat that serve this purpose. Whether these methods are meaningful, however, is controversial, because the tremendous power of the Kundalini can cause damage in an unprepared body.

The Kundalini activates itself, or by an act of grace, when the human has reached a corresponding consciousness if its energy system is thus energized and a high state of vibration was achieved. When activated, Kundalini can play the role of a “pipe cleaner” in this process, helping to free the field, the chakras, and the central energy channel from blockages, opening the entire system for the influx of the soul’s cosmic consciousness.

The more blockages there are, the stronger the Kundalini experience. The more open a system is on activation, the more subtle is the work with Kundalini. In the liberated state, neither the Kundalini nor the Chakras are strongly felt, as it is above all the “energetic friction” that makes them perceptible.

By ascending the Kundalini, the descending energy flow of the soul can now freely flow into the system and be fully expressed by all bodies. In parts, this happens even before a stronger Kundalini activation, so that this does not happen in all cases “with a bang”.

Light flux and kundalini energy

The ascending, liberating energy flow of the Kundalini allows the descending, light flow of the soul to fully incarnate into the bodily envelopes. This enables a life as a realized soul that is simultaneously fully present in the body and anchored in the transcendent reality of cosmic consciousness.

This state is called “Nirvikalpa-Samadhi” in Tantra Yoga and is achieved when the Kundalini power rises from the root chakra and unites with the descending cosmic consciousness of the soul.

Kundalini meditation and yoga

Yoga has its own school just for awakening and promoting the Kundalini energy in the body, Kundalini Yoga. Certain physical exercises, but also meditations, mainly referring to the Kundalini affected chakras, are used. For the awakening of the Kundalini in the Root Chakra and the promotion of their ascension to the crown chakra, but also to accompany the descent back to the root, the Chakra Yoga and the Chakra Meditation offers one of the most helpful techniques.

Kundalini, Shiva and Shakti

Indian mythology has a beautiful picture for this process:

It refers to a time before the time when everything was one, united in a single, unified consciousness. From this unit two powers were born, symbolized as the male god Shiva, symbol of the consciousness of the Absolute, and his consort Shakti, symbol of the active energy of creation. By separating unity into this primordial male and female power, a separation of consciousness and matter (in all its gross and subtle forms) emerged – and thereby creation.

Kundalini-Shakti, the female primal force of creation, lies dormant in the root chakra of each individual and waits to reunite with her consort Shiva, thereby regaining the consciousness of the unity of all things. It is symbolized in yoga by a sleeping snake curled up at the base of the spine.

Through a process of purification and energetic activation – mostly through certain meditations and breathing techniques – Kundalini-Shakti can be awakened and then ascend through the Shushumna Nadi and all chakras to the Crown Chakra, where the two energy flows unite.

Kundalini and Kaduceus: The caduceus

Even in the Western world we know the image of Ida, Pingala and Shushumna: In the caduceus, which is still today the symbol for all healing professions, we find a representation of these three nadis. The staff itself is the Shushumna Nadi, around which Ida and Pingala wind. The staff ends with a ball flanked by wings – symbol of the liberated soul. As in the chakra system, all three channels spring from the root chakra, Ida and Pingala cross four times at the points of the chakras.

We recommend for you: The chakras and their colors

Click for video


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More